DE/EN

Christoph Schaub

Christoph Schaub’s career begins during the youth movement in Zurich in the summer of 1980. While the city is in flames, he is on the road to film the riots. He captures what he and his peers are concerned with. His curiosity and his sense for moving scenes will both later approve to be the fundamental tools for his work.

Born in 1958, Christoph produces his first films with the film production company Zürcher Videoladen. He shares his world of expirience as ayoung polotical filmmaker. Christoph quits his German studies, when his cinematic career as a director begins to shape in the early eighties. Instead of goining to a film school he develops this film making skills as an autodidact and assists in directing, camera and editing.

Through his debut feature film Wendel (1987), Christoph broadens his perspective with a poetic reflection of a unique male friendship. His following feature films address emotions such as grief, fear and euphoria or utopian visions. Dreissig Jahre depicts the melancholy of young adults longing for their youth. Am Ende der Nacht is the story of a crazed man murdering his wife and son. The three films reflect the tension of individuals who endure but want to escape. This conflicting tension characterises all of Christoph’s films to the present.

In the mid nineties, he nstarts makingdocumentaries about architecture. The first of them, IL GIRASOLE, he makes with a friend of him, an architect. Further documentaries about architecture and structures follow, among others including those about Peter Zumthor, Gion A. Caminada, Santiago Calatrava and Herzog & de Meuron. Christoph Schaub is fascinated by finding the correlation between the filmed space and the narration.

During this period he also works intensively on fictional film subjects. He realises among others the films Stille Liebe, Sternenberg, Jeune Homme, Happy New Year, Giulias Verschwinden, Nachtlärm. Many of his films reach a wide audience, and receive national as well as international film awards. Christoph Schaub’s current work includes feature films and documentaries both for cinema and television.

Together with his cinematic work, Christoph establishes with a group of like-minded individuals a cinema in the autonomous youth centre in Zurich (AJZ). Later it became the cinema Xenix which is still a popular program cinema space today.. He also cofounded the film production company Dschoint Ventschr AG (1989–1994) and another cinema in the district of Morgental in Zurich (1992–2002). Further, he is involved in building and opening the cinemas Riffraff and Houdini in Zurich as well as the cinema Bourbaki in Lucerne. Theses cinemas are run by the company Neugass Kino (PLC) founded in 1996, of which Christoph has been the president of the board until 2018. For a time, he collaborates also as a Board of the foundations Swiss Films and Zürcher Filmstiftung. Christoph is a member of the Swiss Film Academy, the European Film Academy (EFA) and the Asian Pacific Screen Academy (APSA).

Press Kit

DE/EN

Christoph Schaub

Christoph Schaub kommt im Sommer 1980 während der Zürcher Jugendbewegung zum Film. Zürich brennt, er ist mit anderen als Chronist unterwegs. Er zeichnet auf, was ihn und die jungen Menschen beschäftigt. Christoph Schaubs Neugier und sein Gespür für bewegende Szenen erweisen sich fortan als elementares Werkzeug in seinem Schaffen.

Erste Filme produziert Christoph Schaub im Zürcher Videoladen. Sie zeigen vor allem die Erfahrungswelt eines politisierten Jungfilmers. Christoph Schaub, Jahrgang 1958, bricht sein Studium in Germanistik ab, als seine filmische Laufbahn Anfang der 80er-Jahre Gestalt annimmt. Nach und nach erlernt er das Handwerk im Selbststudium und assistiert in den Bereichen Regie, Kamera und Schnitt.

Mit dem ersten Spielfilm Wendel (1987) erweitert  Christoph Schaub seine Perspektive und blickt poetisch auf eine ungewöhnliche Männerfreundschaft. Es geht Christoph Schaub in seinen folgenden Spielfilmen um Emotionen wie Trauer und Angst, Euphorie und Utopie. Dreissig Jahre handelt von der Melancholie junger Erwachsener, die der Jugend nachsinnen. Am Ende der Nacht erzählt vom Wahn eines Mannes, der seine Frau und seinen Sohn umbringt. Die drei Filme thematisieren das Spannungsfeld, in dem sich Menschen zwischen Ausharren und Ausbrechen befinden. Es ist diese Spannung, die Christoph Schaubs Filme bis heute prägt.

Ab Mitte der 90er-Jahre dreht Christoph Schaub vor allem Dokumentarfilme über Architektur. Den ersten Architekturfilm IL GIRASOLE entwickelt Christoph Schaub mit einem befreundeten Architekten. Es entstehen weitere Filme über Architektur und Bauwerke unter anderem von Peter Zumthor, Gion A. Caminada, Santiago Calatrava, Herzog & de Meuron. Christoph Schaub treibt beim Thema Architektur die Herausforderung an, den Raum so zu inszenieren, dass er eine narrative Interpretation erfährt.

Auch intensiviert Schaub seine Arbeit an fiktionalen Stoffen. Es entstehen u.a. die Filme Stille Liebe, Sternenberg, Jeune Homme, Happy New Year, Giulias Verschwinden, Nachtlärm. Viele Filme erreichen ein breites Publikum und werden mit nationalen und internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Christoph Schaub realisiert bis heute Spiel- sowie Dokumentarfilme für Kino und Fernsehen.

Nebst seinem filmischen Schaffen engagiert sich Christoph Schaub in der Filmbranche. Christoph Schaub gründet mit Gleichgesinnten 1980 das AJZ-Kino; das Kino Xenix entsteht später daraus. Christoph Schaub war Mitbegründer der Produktionsfirma Dschoint Ventschr AG (1989–1994) und des Quartierkinos Morgental (1992–2002). Später engagiert er sich für Bau und Eröffnung der Kinos Riffraff und Houdini in Zürich sowie Bourbaki in Luzern. Geführt werden diese Kinos von der Neugass Kino AG, von der Christoph Schaub seit der Gründung 1996  dem Verwaltungsrat vorsteht. Christoph Schaub arbeitete im Stiftungsrats der Swiss Films und der Zürcher Filmstiftung mit. Er ist Mitglied der Schweizer Filmakademie, der European Film Academy (EFA) und der Asian Pacific Screen Academy (APSA).

Pressematerial